Bolton Comic Con, UK, 18/02/16

Ok so today is a day that I traveled on my own! I decided that I really wanted to go to Bolton Comic Con, 1. because I have never been to a Comic Con and 2. becuase Andy Fairhurst  was there. Andy Fairhurst is my favourite graphic designer, artist, illustrator whatever you want to call him but I love his work so being able to go and meet him was incredible.

I drove to the Macron Stadium (if you are not a Bolton FC fan like me you will still know that stadium as the Reebok), and before I had even entered the place there was Optimus Prime outside, it was the official vehicle used by Hasbro in the UK, it did have a facelift which has made it more screen accurate then ever! and Bolton Comic Con was it’s first outing since the makeover which is really cool. I’m not a fan of Transformers, however it was amazing to look at.

img_1143
Optimus Prime

I paid on the door which was £5 instead of £7 as I went in about 2 hours before closing, which wasn’t to bad. When I got in there was literally just rows and rows of stalls which sold pretty much anything and everything that you can think of! I ended up buying a guitar plectrum for my brother with Darth Vader on it, Assassins creed book, Charmander soft toy (for Hannah I’m a Bulbasaure kind of girl!), a replica of the Mocking Jay pin and Harry Potter coasters (Hufflepuff for Hannah and Ravenclaw for me).

16797995_1121963271266182_3055691468806008549_o.jpg
The rows kept going!

There were a lot of cosplay all around, some were incredible they literally looked exactly the same as the originals, the image below is a very small part of the cosplay (others ran away when the word ‘picture’ was announced!)

16836536_1123288244467018_3924758317828135850_o.jpg
Very good image by Alan Andrew, very hard tog et everybody’s attention!

So because you’ve been reading this blog and I have said right at the beginning that I adore Andy Fairhurst I think it’s only fair that I show you what only cost me a tenner! Not only is this (one of) my favourite prints that he has done he was so cool and down to earth when I bought it saying “do you want me to sign it for you?” I was like YES!!! It was if he didn’t realise how big he is in the industry, he is such a nice dude and happily stood and chatted with me about anything and everything it was really nice of him.

img_1146
You can’t see the signature in this pic but it’s in the bottom right corner in silver.

Overall it was a really good day, the crowds were controlled really well, there was such a large variety of stalls there, lots of famous faces to get autographs from, cosplay competition and of course the retro gamin area. I really enjoyed myself and I will happily go to another comic con again (hopefully with my partner in crime next time!).

Check out the Bolton Comic Con Facebook here –> Facebook

Leave a Reply

