Avenged Sevenfold! 16/01/17 Manchester Arena

So today has finally come!!! I have been looking forward to this day since August (when I booked it!). I got Hannah tickets to see Avenged Sevenfold for her birthday due to me feeling seriously bad about going without her last time, in my defence I didn’t think that she wanted to go!

We parked in the Manchester Arena carpark (which cost a fortune) at about 1 so we could have a wonder round the shops and go for some food before the gig, the shopping side we didn’t do much of just window shopped really but the food was a big hit. We went to the Hard Rock Café before it got busy with people at about 4:30 so we had enough time to sit and enjoy instead of worrying about the time and rushing our food.

So at the Hard Rock Café for starters we had a Jumbo Combo which included Signature Wings, Onion Rings, Tupelo Chicken Tenders, Southwest Springrolls and Bruschetta. Served with honey mustard, hickory barbecue and blue cheese dressing (we stayed way away from the blue cheese dressing!), otherwise it was really nice and in all honesty plenty for both of us and for mains I had the local legendary burger which apparently is different in every store, in the Manchester store it was a chicken burger with like a seasoned mayo type sauce, salad and chips. It was very nice but because I was so full I only ate half of it! Hannah had the Big Cheeseburger, which is pretty self-explanatory but I’ll explain anyway it’s a half pound beef burger, topped with your choice of three thick slices of American, Monterey Jack, cheddar or Swiss cheese (I think Hannah had American cheese), served with crisp lettuce, vine-ripened tomato and red onion.

So after eating a ridiculous amount of food and rolling out of the Hard Rock Café we went to starbucks at the train station to have a bottle of water and a chill to let the food settle before we went into the gig. For this gig we were sat down unlike the Alter Bridge gig (which you can read about –> HERE) so for us it was a chilled and enjoyable atmosphere, In Flames where the first supporting act on and from what I remember when I use to listen to them, they were quite a heavy metal band however it seems that they have calmed down quite a bit which I found better and more enjoyable. Disturbed were the next support act which I expect them to be amazing but they absolutely blew me away! I have been listening to them for a few weeks and I new they would be good, but I was overwhelmed when they did my favourite song ‘Sound of Silence’ it was just sooooo good and I would definitely go and watch them if they were to tour in the UK again.

Now the main event, Avenged were really good, I personally don’t like their new album I just think it is something that they should have worked on before releasing it and then possibly yano promote it a bit because in all honesty I didn’t even know they had a new album out until after I had booked these tickets so yeah. They were really good though I think we both preferred the older stuff because we were huge fans of the older albums and the fact that they spoke to the fans a lot was a lot more enjoyable then the previous two bands due to them just wanting to get through songs which again I can understand because the fans want songs, but I prefer it if they speak tot eh fans and interact with them more then if they play a butt load of songs and then just wonder off stage.

Overall we had a really good time, Hannah really enjoyed it and was still very full from her birthday tea by the time that we got back so it was a really good gig day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

